| 15-Aug-2017

Don't miss our September webinar!

Sign up now!

"Simulation as a Measure to Decrease Transition Shock for New Nurses"

Presented by:
Christine Thomas, PhD, RN, CHSE
Associate Professor
Simulation & Clinical Skills Laboratory Faculty
West Chester University, Department of Nursing

and Molly Kellgren, MSN, RN, CHSE
Manager, Accelerating to Practice
National League for Nursing 

Abstract: New graduates transitioning into the professional practice role of RN are confronted with a broad range and scope of transitional changes. This period is described as Transition Shock. Nursing needs to find ways to help new nurses transition into their new roles of professional nurse for continued patient safety and to keep them in the profession, as many decide to leave due the multiple stressors of patient care and workplace responsibilities.

The use of simulation as a teaching/learning method in education and practice is becoming more common, and one way to help novice nurses. This presentation will explore how simulation can positively impact the experience gaps novice nurses face as they enter the professional role of nursing.

Objectives:
By the end of the session, participants will be able to:
1. Identify factors that contribute or hinder new graduate transition to practice
2. Discuss research findings related to transition shock
3. Discuss current simulation standards of best practice
4. Describe how simulation can decrease transition shock

Sponsored by The Global Institute for Simulation Training, the educational arm of Education Management Solutions.

Join us on Wednesday, September 13, 2017 @ 2:00 pm EDT (1:00 pm CDT; 12:00 pm MDT; 11:00 am PDT) for this free and informational webinar.

Webinars are one hour in length. Space is limited!

Click here to register for this FREE Webinar!

EMS has been the leading innovator of simulation training technology for more
than 20 years.