Global Institute for Simulation Training Webinar Series 


Join Us For: Using the Realism of Simulation to Teach the Tenets of Interprofessional Education & Collaborative Practice

Click Here to Register

Presented by:
Elizabeth Speakman, EdD, RN, FNAP, ANEF, FAAN
Associate Provost for Interprofessional Education
Professor, Health Sciences
University of the Sciences

Abstract: Developing interprofessional education (IPE) and collaborative practice (CP) learning and practice opportunities in healthcare can be challenging.  While most healthcare providers acknowledge the correlation between team based care and improved patient outcomes, they will also acknowledge that developing and maintaining these IPE and CP opportunities can be significantly hindered by logistics in time and space, and by finding parallel and comparable opportunities.

In today’s healthcare systems, providers who share mental models to employ collaborative practices, have clear roles and responsibilities, utilize optimal resources, have strong team leadership, and engage in regular feedback communicating with other members of the team are best positioned to provide patient centered care.

This webinar will provide overview of IPE and CP, discuss the implications of team based care and its impact on patient outcomes, and describe how IPE and CP can and should be implemented in healthcare systems using a variety of modalities—specifically, team simulation.

Wednesday, August 1, 2018 at 2:30 pm EDT
(1:30 pm CDT; 12:30 pm MDT; 11:30 am PDT)

Webinars are one hour in length. Space is limited. 

Click here to register for this FREE webinar!

Comments are closed.