Click here to register.

“Enhancing Medication Administration Safety Through Simulation”

Presented by:
Kellie Bryant, DNP, WHNP, CHSE
Executive Director of Simulation
Assistant Professor
Columbia University School of Nursing

Abstract: 
Medical error is the third leading cause of death in the US, with administering medications representing one of the highest risk areas of nursing practice that can contribute to medical errors. Many nursing graduates lack competency in medication administration steps such as error identification, patient identification, and medication calculation. Nurse educators are challenged with developing more effective teaching strategies to better prepare our students for the knowledge, skills, and clinical judgment needed to administer medication safely. Simulation can be used to provide students with a realistic opportunity to safely administer medication, promoting competency through deliberate practice and immediate feedback.

This webinar will focus on developing medication administration simulation activities that can be used to teach and evaluate medication safety. The simulation activities take a holistic approach to medication administration, including performing an assessment, critical thinking, clinical reasoning, and dosage calculation skills. Although the research is limited, there is evidence that implementation of medication administration simulation resulted in students having greater knowledge and competency related to medication safety.

Sponsored by The Global Institute for Simulation Training, the educational arm of Education Management Solutions.

Join us on Wednesday, March 6, 2019 at 2:00 pm EST (1:00 pm CST; 12:00 pm MST; 11:00 am PST).

Webinars are one hour in length. Space is limited!

Click here to register for this FREE Webinar!

Comments are closed.