Click here to register!

“Simulation: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly”

Presented by:
Daniel Raemer, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Anaesthesia
Harvard Medical School
Bioengineer, Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care, and Pain Medicine
Massachusetts General Hospital Boston, Massachusetts, USA 

Chief Curiosity Officer
Center for Medical Simulation
Charlestown, MA, USA 

Abstract:
Simulation has had a positive impact in education and training of students, practitioners, and educators. In addition, simulation has a helped in new procedure development, medical device development and testing, understanding error pathways, and quality improvement initiatives. In the research arena, appreciation of human behavior, exploring system dynamics, and clinical communication have benefited from simulation’s power.

At the same time, simulation has added risk to an already dangerous clinical world. The potential for injury during simulation, both physical and psychological, to patients and patient families, simulation participants, and staff is real.

Ann Mullen, RN, Alex Hannenberg, MD, and Daniel Raemer, Ph.D. have started a Foundation for Simulation Safety to help identify risks, disseminate mitigation strategies, and highlight best practices. They have collected anecdotes of incidents of injury, near misses, and even a patient death related to simulation activities. A campaign to standardize simulation labeling, promote prebriefing strategies, and commit to safe practices are currently under way.

Sponsored by The Global Institute for Simulation Training, the educational arm of Education Management Solutions.

Join us on Wednesday, April 3, 2019 at 2:00 pm EDT (1:00 pm CDT; 12:00 pm MDT; 11:00 am PDT).

Webinars are one hour in length. Space is limited!

Click here to register for this FREE Webinar!

Comments are closed.